反冲,PKA光谱和材料的模拟输入

3d_recoils

Al27(N,A)反冲矩阵。两个重Na24残留(灰色)的反冲矩阵和光α粒子(蓝色)被示出。对于给定的入射中子能量(绘制为能量组的中点)反冲截面VS反冲能量曲线作图。请注意,只有可能入射能量的子集被示出。

反冲或PKA概率矩阵本身被计算并通过核数据处理代码NJOY通过其分组例程从原始,逐点核库处理,以及用于核数据文件的附加库,通过所使用的芯ENDF库补充FISPACT-II每个反应通道,主的反冲矩阵(重)残余的和与二次发射光粒子,例如α粒子和质子,进行计算。在右图中,作为横截面与反冲能量为一系列入射能量的,反冲矩阵为重Na24残余和轻4He的从第(n,α)上AL27信道产生的α粒子。因为在给定入射中子能量分布几乎没有或没有重叠这里使用的3D表示是特别有用的,比较这两个相关的反冲矩阵。反应通道本身是阈状和截面为高于5兆电子伏,这是因而也是如此矩阵仅显著。
PKA光谱所有粒子
PKA_Al_demoFW

在PKA分布为天然的Al = Al27 sumnmed作为反冲元件的功能。

每个目标将有许多可能的反应,产生不同的残差和轻粒子的范围内的质量差异,Q值和能量谱。图左示出了预测的第一壁一个示范的(FW)装甲当这些(N,α)通道以及所有其他可能的反应通道上27Al组合获得,由 spectra-pka,具有典型的中子辐射光谱的结果(DEMO )融合电厂(详情见文件的手册部分)。而不是显示从27Al一切可能的渠道,这是仍然可以作为输出每一个产品的后坐力分布,图中我们展示了元素的款项。从图中,我们看到的Al PKAs支配多数PKA能量范围的,反映了一个事实,即简单弹性和非弹性散射截面,其中反冲是相同的目标,具有非常高的横截面相比于非弹性反应通道,特别是在低中子能量。仅在高能量,在千电子伏范围的100秒以上,做其他重粒子的反冲,在这种情况下,镁和钠,相比于铝反冲相同能量的成为显著。注意,镁和钠具有较低原子数Z比Al和它显然,在时间t = 0,任何嬗变已经发生之前,不存在,将产生的残差比母体较高的Z反应通道的情况。只有在X射线照射在以后的时间,一旦某些高原子序数元素已经被嬗变和衰变产生,会有看到了更高的Z值为的PKAs相比原来所属的原子的可能性。 该图还示出了用于氦和氢的光二次发射的气体颗粒,其被标记为在图中作为质子(p)和α粒子的PKA分布来反映这样一个事实,这些氢和氦的同位素将是压倒性主导次级产品((N,D)和(N,T)涉及较重的氢同位素是罕见的,反应产生的,他其他同位素更是如此)。作为其低质量的结果相比,在目标和重残余,这些气体粒子取多数反应的运动能量,所以有更高的PKA的能量。因此,对于该第一壁融合照射光谱,其主导14兆电子伏的中子峰,气体粒子可以与能量发射几乎达此14兆电子伏的水平。这样的高能粒子可能对材料辐射损伤显著的影响,即使在考虑了他们的低质量。

Recoils, PKA spectra and materials simulation inputs

3d_recoils

Al27 (n,a) recoil matrices. Both the recoil matrix of the heavy Na24 residual (grey) and the light alpha particle (blue) are shown. For a given incident neutron energy (plotted as the midpoint of the energy group) the recoil cross section vs recoil energy curve is plotted. Note that only a subset of the possible incident energies are shown.

The recoil or PKA probability matrices themselves are calculated and processed from the raw, point-wise nuclear libraries by the nuclear data processing code NJOY through its GROUPR routine, and for an additional library of nuclear data files, complementary to the core ENDF libraries used by FISPACT-II. For each reaction channel, both the recoil matrices of the primary (heavy) residual and and secondary emitted light particle, such as α-particles and protons, are calculated. The figure to the right shows, as cross section versus recoil energy for a range of incident energies, the recoil matrices for the heavy Na24 residual and light 4He α-particle produced from the (n,α) channel on Al27. The 3D representation used here is particularly useful to compare these two related recoil matrices because there is little or no overlap in the distributions at a given incident neutron energy. The reaction channel itself is threshold-like and the cross section is only significant above 5 MeV, which is thus also true for the matrices.
PKA spectra for all particles
PKA_Al_demoFW

The PKA distributions for natural Al = Al27 sumnmed as a function of the recoiling element.

Each target will have many possible reactions, producing different residuals and light particles with a range of mass differences, Q-values and energy spectra. The figure to left shows the results obtained when these (n,α) channels and all other possible reaction channels on 27Al are combined, by spectra-pka, with a typical neutron irradiation spectrum predicted for the first wall (FW) armour of a demonstration (DEMO) fusion power plant the (see handbook section of the documentation for further details). Rather than show the recoil distribution for every product from all possible channels on 27Al, which are nonetheless available as output, in the figure we show the elemental sums. From the figure, we see that PKAs of Al dominate over the majority of the PKA energy range, reflecting the fact that the simple elastic and inelastic scattering cross section, where the recoil is identical to the target, have very high cross sections compared to the non-elastic reaction channels, particularly at low neutron energies. Only at high energies, in the 100s of keV range and above, do recoil of other heavy particles, in this case magnesium and sodium, become significant compared to the Al recoils of the same energy. Notice that Mg and Na have lower atomic number Z than Al, and it obviously the case that at time t = 0, before any transmutation has taken place, there are no reaction channels that would produce residuals with a higher Z than the parent. Only at later times during irradiation exposure, once some higher atomic number elements have been produced by transmutation and decay, would there be a possibility of seeing PKAs of higher Z number compared to the original parent atoms. The figure also shows the PKA distributions for the light secondary emitted gas particles of helium and hydrogen, which are labelled in the plot as protons (p) and α-particles to reflect the fact that these hydrogen and helium isotopes will be the overwhelmingly dominant secondary products ((n,d) and (n,t) involving the heavier H isotopes are rare, and reactions producing other isotopes of He even more so). As a consequence of their low mass compared to the target and heavy residual, these gas particles take the majority of the kinematic energy of the reaction and so have much higher PKA energies. Thus, for this first wall fusion irradiation spectrum, with its dominant 14 MeV neutron peak, the gas particles can be emitted with energies almost up to this 14 MeV level. Such high energy particles may have significant implications for radiation damage in materials, even accounting for their low mass.