裂变衰变热

报告全文,请访问: Validation of FISPACT-II decay heat and inventory predictions for fission events CCFE-R(15)28 为了确保此验证是尽可能稳定,彻底的努力已经取得了重温互补中子能谱,照射时间表,测量技术和原产国为许多高品质的衰变热的实验。从理论裂变突发全日照射模拟已经被执行时,使用各种核数据的组合,并与现有的实验相比较。计算和实验(C / E)之间有良好的协议发现总热量从实际轻水反应堆的主要新燃料组件,但光谱偏热和衰变热钍燃料循环核素仍然是有差异的 – 无论是在C / E和C / C 。对于次锕系元素在没有实验数据可用,C / C比较也显示数据库之间的巨大差异。 还为选择冷却时间和fissiles进行详细(光谱和总)衰变热核素击穿,使用不同的衰减或裂变产量的库来演示的C / C不符的确切原因。这些由于不完全通过标签的结果为乌烟瘴气核素,但许多其他衰减数据和裂变产量差异已经鉴定发现主要是。定为对总值相对协议的倾向,但显然许多补偿效果仍然存在。
标准U235,钚239,Pu241热脉冲
U235 thermal pulse

道达尔和伽玛衰变热继U235热中子脉冲裂变,比较有FISPACT-II和各大图书馆知名的实验数据。

已为U235和钚239进行大集热衰变热的实验,让一些统计汇总分析需要处理实验数据和不确定性的范围。虽然可以提出一些卡方分析,与多个实验技术的系统的问题,广告活动和其它因素的质量必须被考虑到。由于这些原因,评估数据集已经生产,例如托拜厄斯评估或ANS / ANSI-5.1。从FISPACT-II和其他高品质的实验预测的比较显示所有图书馆总热量优秀的协议,由于标签数据采用一些未解决的伽马/公测偏热的差异。 其余的光谱问题很大程度上与伽马/β能量在衰减过程中的配置不当,由于缺乏有关β衰变饲喂高能量激发态女儿的知识。这些低概率事件难以测量并且因此平均伽马能量被向下歪斜,从而导致衰变热的β衰变一个misapportionment。彩民在很大程度上仍然不受腐烂库的选择,但ENDF / B-VII.1和JENDL-4.0u一般有哪些纠正这些问题的最新数据更完整的采用。作为FISPACT-II已经被设计为容纳任何及所有核数据,用户可以选择基于UKAEA验证的结果最合适的物理学。
快速光谱衰变热脉冲
Pu239_fast_tb

道达尔和β衰变热继钚239快速脉冲裂变,比较有FISPACT-II和所有主要图书馆秋山数据。

快速裂变脉冲试验的范围包括使用弥生器,适用于各种核素,包括U233,U235,U238,钚239和Th232的秋山等的测量。这些是由U238 UM洛厄尔数据和伽玛热测量使用来自费舍尔和一个功放设备的Godiva实验补充;恩格尔。非脉冲快速测量也比较,例如从UKAEA斑马反应器中。 除了一些违规行为与在Th232伽马测量捕获修正,这些都在很大程度上对所有考虑的系统的协议。使用以前GEFY-4.2数据而导致显著不同的总热量的预测在短的冷却时间,典型地小于10秒一些差异指出。这些在某些情况下是不可用的实验的范围内,以充分探测并且应当注意的是,环境基金代码享有显著和持续发展,近年来和月。目前它不是典型的热或快堆衰变热模拟推荐的库,但其出色的功能,使其成为许多先进的应用和更新版本的唯一选择在不断的开发和测试。
有限时间实验 一些非脉冲实验被认为是其中采用了多种中子能谱,测量类型/技术,照射的持续时间和冷却时间的。Murphy_Pu239_fast这些从秒钟到几年照射后(在某些情况下都在一个实验运动),蒸发量热屏蔽伽马测量和快堆热列。很重要的是,它们还包括来自几个国家和大洲,包括UKAEA,LANL,Studsvik,CEA,橡树岭国家实验室,CENBG,U乌普萨拉,KFK,SRRC和JAEA实验。与FISPACT-II协议的预测一般都非常好,尤其是比脉冲情况下,从乌烟瘴气的影响遭受核素不太显著和众多的更好。 在图中的例子右边显示100,000秒(约1天)在UKAEA斑马反应器中,测试测量,热在一个巨大的短短十余秒冷却时间到近一年的照射范围。对所有核数据库中的令人印象深刻的协议是部分归因于核素的下总数这在很长的(累积/平衡)照射一个显著的作用。
核数据比较
U233_fast_100s

在100秒的冷却下快速U233中子脉冲伽玛热的比较。比率给出右侧y轴。

采用不同的核数据的库可以对衰变热的模拟所有易裂变核素,包括轻水堆燃料的主要成分,例如产生深远的影响。为了更好地理解这些差异的根本原因,FISPACT-II可以通过交换个别腐烂或分裂文件,并在精选的冷却时间比较热和库存使用。通过这样做,库差异的影响可以容易地发现和核素这都有助于非可忽略对衰变热和有差异的产率或衰减可以被识别。 FISPACT-II的核数据功能的强大和开放性使其能够遵守所有的核素和准确地识别那些负责不符核素。为从该乌烟瘴气效果遭受核素,测试版热是由于高能量γ射线过表达由于热的误分配。这是不可能的衰变数据文件的唯一错误 – 从ENSDF,总计和简单的拼写错误的可疑拆分也可能出错的数据误读 – 但它是最普遍的问题。为了找到问题的根源,衰变数据文件必须由专人(最终由衰变数据评估)询问。这个例子展现给左边是一组与之在左y轴标称值和比率到右侧y轴上的ENDF / B-VII.1模拟伽玛U233热贡献者。在此比较夫-3.1.1裂变产率只用于确保任何效应是纯粹由于衰变的文件。注意,可以在所有的库的情况下Zr98伽马热的除ENDF / B-VII.1,这是由于其中只有地面状态在β衰变填充文件。 主报告两份补充报告,对于大范围的核素和冷却时间提供这些比较,用列表值。它们可从以下报告。 Decay datacomparisons for decay heat and inventory simulations of fission events CCFE-R(15)28_S1 Fission yield comparisons for decay heat and inventory simulations of fission events CCFE-R(15)28_S2

Fission decay heat

The full report is available here: Validation of FISPACT-II decay heat and inventory predictions for fission events CCFE-R(15)28 To ensure that this validation is as robust as possible, a thorough effort has been made to revisit as many high-quality decay heat experiments with complementary neutron spectra, irradiation schedules, measurement techniques and nations of origin. Simulations from theoretical fission bursts to full-day irradiations have been performed, using a variety of nuclear data combinations, and compared with the available experiments. Good agreement between calculation and experiment (C/E) is found for total heat from the major fresh fuel components in actual LWRs, however spectroscopic partial heat and decay heat in thorium fuel cycle nuclides remains discrepant – both in C/E and C/C. For minor actinides where no experimental data was available, C/C comparisons also show substantial differences between data libraries. Detailed (spectroscopic and total) decay heat break-down by nuclide is also performed for select cooling times and fissiles, using different decay or fission yield libraries to demonstrate the precise cause of the C/C discrepancies. These are found to primarily be due to incomplete adoption of TAGS results for Pandemonium nuclides, but many other decay data and fission yield differences have been identified. Given the tendency for relative agreement on total values, it is clear that many compensating effects are still present.
Standard U235, Pu239, Pu241 thermal pulses
U235 thermal pulse

Total and gamma decay heat following thermal neutron pulse fission on U235, comparing well-known experimental data with FISPACT-II and all major libraries.

A large set of thermal decay heat experiments have been performed for U235 and Pu239, so that some statistical meta-analysis is necessary to handle the range of experimental values and uncertainties. While some chi-squared analysis may be proposed, the systematic issues with multiple experimental techniques, quality of campaigns and other factors must be taken into account. For these reasons, evaluated datasets have been produced, for example the Tobias evaluations or ANS/ANSI-5.1. Comparisons with predictions from FISPACT-II and other high-quality experiments show excellent agreement in total heat for all libraries, with some unresolved gamma/beta partial heat discrepancies due to TAGS data adoption. The remaining spectroscopic issues are largely related to the misallocation of gamma/beta energy in decay processes due to a lack of knowledge about beta decay feeding to high-energy excited daughter states. These low probability events are difficult to measure and consequently the average gamma energies are skewed downward, resulting in a misapportionment of decay heat to the beta decay. Totals remain largely insensitive to the choice of decay library, but ENDF/B-VII.1 and JENDL-4.0u generally have more complete adoption of the most recent data which corrects these problems. As FISPACT-II has been engineered to accomodate any and all nuclear data, the user is able to choose to most appropriate physics based on the results of UKAEA validation.
Fast spectrum decay heat pulses
Pu239_fast_tb

Total and beta decay heat following fast pulse fission on Pu239, comparing Akiyama data with FISPACT-II and all major libraries.

The range of fast fission pulse experiments includes the Akiyama et al measurements using the YAYOI reactor for a variety of nuclides including U233, U235, U238, Pu239 and Th232. These are complemented by UM Lowell data for U238 and measurements of gamma heat from experiments using a Godiva device from Fisher & Engle. Non-pulse fast measurements are also compared, for example from the UKAEA Zebra reactor. Except for some irregularities with the capture correction in the Th232 gamma measurement, these are largely in agreement for all of the systems considered. Some differences were noted using previous GEFY-4.2 data which led to significantly different total heat predictions in short cooling times, typically less than 10 seconds. These in some cases are not within the scope of the available experiments to adequately probe and it should be noted that the GEF code has enjoyed significant and continued development in recent years and months. At present it is not the recommended library for typical thermal or fast reactor decay heat simulations, but its impressive capabilities make it the only option for many advanced applications and updated versions are continually in development and testing.
Finite duration experiments Several non-pulse experiments were considered which employed a variety of neutron spectra, Murphy_Pu239_fastmeasurement types/techniques, irradiation durations and cooling times. These vary from seconds to years post-irradiation (in some cases both in one experimental campaign), boil-off calorimetry to shielded gamma measurements and fast reactors to thermal columns. Quite importantly, they also include experiments from several countries and continents, including the UKAEA, LANL, Studsvik, CEA, ORNL, CENBG, U Uppsala, KfK, SRRC and JAEA. Agreement with FISPACT-II predictions are generally very good, particularly better than the pulse cases where nuclides which suffer from the Pandemonium effect are less significant and numerous. The example in the figure right shows a 100,000 seconds (~1 day) irradiation in the UKAEA Zebra reactor followed by beta heat measurements at a huge range of cooling times from just over ten seconds to nearly one year. The impressive agreement for all nuclear data libraries is in part attributable to the lower total number of nuclides which a significant role in a long (cumulative/equilibrium) irradiation.
Nuclear data comparisons
U233_fast_100s

Comparison of the gamma heat at 100 s cooling following a fast U233 neutron pulse. Ratios are given on the right y-axis.

The use of different nuclear data libraries can have a profound effect on the simulation of decay heat for all fissile nuclides, including the main constituents of LWR fuel, for example. To better understand the root cause of these differences, FISPACT-II can be employed by swapping individual decay or fission files and comparing heat and inventories at a selection of cooling times. By doing this, the effects of library differences can be easily discovered and nuclides which both contribute non-negligibly to decay heat and have discrepant yields or decays can be identified. The robust and open nature of the nuclear data functionalities of FISPACT-II allow it to follow all nuclides and precisely identify those nuclides which are responsible for discrepancies. For the nuclides which suffer from the Pandemonium effect, the beta heat is over-expressed due to mis-allocation of the heat due to high-energy gammas. This is not the only error possible with decay data files – misreading of data from ENSDF, dubious splitting of totals and simple typographical mistakes could also be at fault – but it is the most prevalent problem. To find the root cause, the decay data files must be interrogated by hand (ultimately by decay data evaluators). The example show to left is the set of U233 gamma heat contributors with nominal values on the left y-axis and ratios to the ENDF/B-VII.1 simulations on the right y-axis. In this comparisons JEFF-3.1.1 fission yields are exclusively used to ensure that any effects are solely due to the decay files. Note also the absence of Zr98 gamma heat in all libraries except ENDF/B-VII.1, which is due to files where only the ground state is populated in the beta decay. Two supplemental reports to the main V&V report provide these comparisons for a large range of nuclides and cooling times, with tabulated values. They are available from: Decay datacomparisons for decay heat and inventory simulations of fission events CCFE-R(15)28_S1 Fission yield comparisons for decay heat and inventory simulations of fission events CCFE-R(15)28_S2